Page versioning

Brienne Wong
Brienne Wong
  • Updated

You can see, restore, and rename previous versions of your styleguide pages with Page versioning. Page versioning shows who edited a page, when, how much the page size changed, and the ability to view, restore, and name a previously saved version.

View version history

1) Click Edited X minutes ago by Name under the page title.

Find version history by clicking Edited X minutes ago...

2) Click View next to the version you want to see.

Version history window

3) You can view the previous version of your styleguide. You can click Restore this version to restore the previous version you’re viewing.

Options when viewing a previous version

Restore a previous version

1) Click Edited X minutes ago by Name under the page title

Find version history by clicking Edited X minutes ago...

2) Click the menu

Version history window

3) Click Restore this version

Click Restore this version to restore to a previous version

4) Click Confirm restoration

👉 Note: Content blocks (e.g., design uploads or markdown) that are synced from external files will always reflect the state of that source file

Restore version window to confirm restoration

5) You’ve now restored the page to the previous version.

Rename a previous version

You can rename a version that has already been created. Unnamed versions will default to “Untitled”.

1) Click Edited X minutes ago by Name under the page title

Find version history by clicking Edited X minutes ago...

2) Click the menu

Version history window

3) Click Edit version details

Click Edit version details to rename version

4) Enter a Version name and click Save

Enter version title

FAQs

When viewing a previous version, will all content block types reflect that version?

Predominantly yes. Content that’s populated via another source (e.g., Figma, Storybook, and GitHub) will reflect what’s in the source file (tokens, markdown, uploads). This is regardless of the version you’re viewing. We’ll make it clear when viewing an older version which content types are versioned and which aren’t.

When I restore an older version, will every content block type be restored?

Yes, with a few exceptions. This is similar to the question above. If a content type isn’t versioned (but instead pulling through from an external file), then the most recent state of that source file will appear on the page you’ve restored.

What happens if a team member is deleted from the account?

It will say instead Edited X minutes ago by deleted user.

After releasing a styleguide, is that released version fixed, or can it be edited further?

A released version of your styleguide is fixed. It cannot be edited once it's released.

What versioning feature do I get with my plan?

Based on your plan, you would get:

Free plan

  • Version history (who edited a page, when, file size)
  • 7 days
  • View only

Starter plan

  • Version history (who edited a page, when, file size)
  • 30 days
  • Restore & rename

Pro plan

  • Version history (who edited a page, when, file size)
  • 90 days of history
  • Restore & rename

Enterprise

  • Version history (who edited a page, when, file size)
  • 1 year of version history
  • Restore & rename

Was this article helpful?