Editor permissions

Brienne Wong
Brienne Wong
  • Updated

This feature is available on all Professional and Enterprise plans.

Editor permissions per styleguide

You can now give and remove access to styleguides for particular editors. This is useful if you work in a large team or across multiple styleguides.

 

How do editor permissions work?

  • When you create a styleguide you and the team admins will have access by default.
  • You will be the owner of the styleguide. You can transfer ownership to someone else.
  • You can share the styleguide with the rest of the team, or add editors individually.
  • You will only see styleguides you've been added to or that are shared with the team.

 

Share with other editors

How to share with the team

To share the styleguide with the team:

1) Click Share

2) Move to the Invite tab

3) Toggle Share with team

How to share with other editors

To share the styleguide with another editor:

1) Click Share

2) Move to the Invite tab

3) Select your team member from the list of editors

 

Remove access

How to remove team access

To remove styleguide access from the team:

  1. Click Share
  2. Move to the Invite tab
  3. Toggle Share with team

 👉 Note: Only team admins and editors you have invited individually will have access. You could even remove access for yourself!

How to remove editors

To remove editor access:

1) Click Share

2) Move to the Invite tab

3) Find your team member in the list of editors

4) Click the delete icon

User roles

Admin Enterprise and Professional only Admins are editors who can change the team information, add other admins, remove editors and view all styleguides.
Editor All plans

Can create/delete styleguides, sync designs, add code and usage guidelines. Can invite editors to a team or styleguide.

Reviewer Enterprise and Professional only

Can comment on all types of content including unreleased changes and hidden pages. Cannot comment on navigation, tab headings, outline, or page footer.

Viewer All plans Can view styleguides, copy design values & code snippets, download assets.
Team owner All plans The owner of the team. If you drop down to the free plan this editor will still have access to the styleguide.
Styleguide owner Enterprise only An editor who is the owner of the styleguide.

FAQs

What happens with existing styleguides (created before this feature)?

Existing styleguides will be shared with the whole team. The team owner will be the owner of the styleguide. These settings can be changed (see above).

Who is on the team?

All editors and admins are members of your zeroheight team.

Who is the owner of the styleguide?

By default, the person who created the styleguide is the owner. This is shown in the Share modal.

I can't see a styleguide that I had access to before

Contact your team admin to check if you still have access to the styleguide. Team access may have been turned off for the styleguide.

Who can change ownership of the styleguide?

Only admins and the current owner can change the owner of the styleguide.

Who are the team admins?

The team admins are shown in the Your team page.

How do I change the team admins?

Your existing admins can give admin permissions to an editor in your team. There is no limit on the number of admins.

Who can invite editors to a styleguide?

Any editors who have access to the styleguide can add other editors to the styleguide.

Who can remove editors to a styleguide?

Any editor who has access to the styleguide can remove access to other editors on the styleguide.

Was this article helpful?