This feature is available on all Professional and Enterprise plans.
It's good practice to create releases. Releases allow you to:
- Decide when to publish updates to the styleguide
- Display multiple versions of your documentation
- Establish a lightweight approvals workflow
- Save work as you go and correct mistakes
Work with a draft release
When you create a release, the default is set to Latest. Latest is the work-in-progress release with all your latest changes. The default is the release that viewers will see when they access the styleguide.
We would recommend instead having Latest hidden from viewers so you can choose when to publish your updates. This means you can treat Latest as a draft version of your styleguide.
- Click the
...next to a release and choose Make default
- Click the eye icon next to Latest to hide it.
You can now make changes to your styleguide without the updates being automatically published.
Display multiple versions of your styleguide
You can have more than one release visible to viewers at once. This means viewers will be able to go back to the old release.
This can be useful for keeping a history of your styleguide or for providing information on deprecated products.
If you've made a large set of changes, you could comment to ask your colleague for approval before creating a release. This is a way to establish a quick approvals workflow amongst your team.
Save your work/correct a mistake
You can use releases to save your progress on your styleguide. We would recommend creating a release when you make significant changes to your styleguide.
This means if you accidentally delete some content you can preview an old release and copy the content.