Synced pages

Brienne Wong
Brienne Wong
  • Updated

This feature is available on Enterprise plans. This is not available for legacy Enterprise plans. Want synced pages and other premium features? Update your plan here.

What is synced pages?

Screen Recording 2022-08-18 at 03.27.36 PM.gif

We are excited to introduce the ability to sync pages across styleguides! Synced pages saves you time and enables you to achieve a single source of truth for your design system.

  • You’ll be able to enable syncing on a page, which will add the page to the synced page library
  • In another styleguide, you can select a page from the synced page library
  • The page content will remain up-to-date and synced across the styleguides

Why did we build this?

One of the main aims of design system documentation is to provide a single source of truth.

However in practice, there are many reasons why large teams may split their documentation into multiple sites. For example, at zeroheight we’re aware of companies creating sites for different platforms (e.g. web/mobile), products, brands or sub-brands, geographies, varying levels of technical detail, or for different intended audiences (e.g. internal/external).

It is common for teams to have core design system documentation that should be displayed in all sites, for example brand elements, design principles, and resource pages. We understand that aligning this content across styleguides can be challenging, so we've created synced pages to help!

How do you enable page syncing?

Screen Recording 2022-08-18 at 04.00.33 PM.gif

1) Click on the ... next to the page name

2) Toggle Page syncing on

3) The page will be added to the synced page library. This means it is available to add to other styleguides in your team.

 

How do you add a synced page?

Screen Recording 2022-08-18 at 03.27.36 PM.gif

1) In the sidebar, click on the ... next to Add page

2) Choose Add synced pages

3) Select one or more pages from the synced page library – the styleguides are listed on the left

4) The page(s) will be synced to the styleguide you are editing

5) Going forward, these pages will stay in sync with the original page

 

Making edits and commenting

Screen Shot 2022-08-18 at 3.15.22 PM.png

  • Edits to the page can only be made on the original page, in the original styleguide.
  • In styleguides you have synced the page to, you will see a view-only version of the page.
  • In all the synced pages there will be a link in the top blue banner for editors to jump to the original page (this isn't visible to non-editors who view the published documentation).
  • Comments can also only be made in the original page.

 

How do releases work with synced pages?

  • Releases for the page are controlled by the original styleguide that the page was created in.
  • The synced page will always display the default release of the original page – this means that the content is always the same between the two styleguides and viewers of the styleguides would see the exact same content on the pages that are synced.
  • If the page doesn’t exist in the default release of the styleguide it was created in, you won’t be able to add it as a synced page. To sync the page, create a new release in the original styleguide.

Screen Shot 2022-08-18 at 3.51.33 PM.png

How does security work?

In the first release of this feature, the security of a page can’t be reduced from its security level in the original styleguide (e.g. public, SSO protected, etc.)

This means you can sync pages between styleguides if:

  • they both use SSO
  • the styleguide with the original page is public

In the first release there are some other security things to note:

FAQs

Who can use this feature?

Any editors on the team.

 

Who can add synced pages to a styleguide?

Any editors, even if they can't edit the original styleguide.

 

Why can't I see a page in the synced pages library?

This is commonly due to the security settings of the styleguides, as well as overlooking the inclusion of the page in the default release of the original styleguide.

 

How does this work with hidden pages?

If a page is hidden in the original styleguide, you can’t “unhide” it in the second styleguide. To have a page be visible, the page must be marked visible in the original styleguide.

 

What happens if I delete or unsync the original page?

If the original page is deleted or syncing is turned off, the synced page will still display for editors, but the content will be blank. The page will not display for viewers of the styleguide.

 

Was this article helpful?